In its 50th Anniversary Celebration

first_imgSource = AccorHotels In its 50th Anniversary CelebrationIn its 50th Anniversary CelebrationIn its anniversary celebration on 19 November 2017, AccorHotels welcomes “heroes” among them, such as social workers, volunteers, fire fighters, nurses and teachers, who work hard daily to serve communities around the hotels. Over 2,000 AccorHotels around the world, including 500 hotels on the Asia Pacific and more than 110 hotels in Indonesia are actively involved in this initiative.This global activity is an opportunity for groups and more than 250,000 employees as an expression of gratitude to those who have commited their time and efforts in serving the communities around them through sharing in a spirit of togetherness withactivities such as; breakfast, barbecue, concerts, and even invite them to stay as guests at the hotel.In Indonesia, one example is Novotel Bali Ngurah Rai Airport, which supplied daily necessities to the Karangasem area for the evacuees around the Mount Agung volcano and invited volunteers who handled the evacuation process to enjoy lunch at the hotel.Novotel Bogor and ibis Styles Bogor Raya invited children from orphanages and special needs schools nearby the hotel to stay and enjoy breakfast as well as get involved in fun activities at the hotel. Ibis Styles Jakarta Sunter invited veterans and their families to enjoy dinner and provided rooms for them to stay in. Ibis Budget Surabaya Airport held a brunch for 50 airport security personnel who are regarded as heroes who carried out their important duties around the hotel.Children Day at Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort – Welcome HeroesInviting AccorHotels fostered children from the foster home in Bedugul and the Disabled Children‟s Aid Foundation (YPAC) together with their supervisors, representatives of the Nusa Dua local community, for a lunch with entertainment and fun games such as; swimming, magic tricks, and craft-making competitions (19 November).Global Overview of the 50th AccorHotels Anniversary Worldwide 90,000 guests – 6,650 free nights– 1,000 food and drink servings – 450 cocktails -240 concerts/partieslast_img read more

Senate panel approves public access bill

first_imgOpen-access advocates are heralding a Senate panel’s approval today of a bill that would require U.S. science agencies to make the peer-reviewed research papers they fund freely available to the public. Although a similar White House policy is already in place, supporters say the bipartisan measure—if approved by both chambers of Congress and signed by the president—would ensure the requirement stands through future administrations.The Fair Access to Science and Technology Research (FASTR) Act, approved by unanimous voice vote by the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, requires that agencies that spend at least $100 million a year on research make the peer-reviewed manuscripts they fund freely available within 12 months of when the paper appears in a journal. That’s consistent with a 7-year-old policy at the National Institutes of Health and a directive to all U.S. research agencies that the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) issued in February 2013. Agencies have begun steps to comply with the OSTP order. Email Country * Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia, Plurinational State of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People’s Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Norway Oman Pakistan Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Qatar Reunion Romania Russian Federation Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin (French part) Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Vietnam Virgin Islands, British Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe Sign up for our daily newsletter Get more great content like this delivered right to you! Countrycenter_img Click to view the privacy policy. Required fields are indicated by an asterisk (*) The original version of FASTR would have moved the embargo up to 6 months, but a last-minute amendment changed that to 12 months. Lawmakers wanted to make the bill consistent with OSTP’s directive and satisfy university groups and scientific societies that oppose a 6-month embargo, writes Heather Joseph, executive director of the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), a lobbying group that represents libraries. Many societies that publish journals worry that making papers freely available too soon will lead subscribers to cancel their subscriptions.Although it’s simply codifying the White House policy, the FASTR bill—the first governmentwide public access bill to make it out of a committee—is important to ensure that the policy stays in place once the Obama administration leaves office, SPARC says. The bill heads next to the full Senate for a vote. FASTR has also been introduced in the House of Representatives, and Joseph hopes the responsible House committee will take action now that the bill is moving in the Senate.last_img read more